Happy Coloured Nappy

Oh how many times I would have loved to be radical and bold with my hair color only to be held back by the fact that it may not go down so well with some of the people at work. Thank goodness for temporary hair color! Now I can jazz up my hair for the weekend with whatever color and go to work on Monday looking professional.

How did I achieve this temporary bold look? Eye Shadow! To be exact, the Maybelline Color Tattoo. This is a cream based eye shadow that is said to last for 24 hours. Awesome right? Now I’m not really a makeup person so this definitely would not come to mind off the bat. Among the things I researched prior to my journey was hair color inspiration, and man did I find some really awesome colours! The thing is the colours I was interested in would not be suitable for a formal 9-5 job. Besides, I am aware of all the dryness and damages that may result especially with natural hair so I did not really want to commit to a permanent chemical bleaching solution. I was so intrigued when I came across the eye shadow method and of course I checked if it would work for my 4C texture as well and it did!

color tattoo

Maybelline Color Tattoo

I bought the tenacious teal and the painted purple and got down to business Saturday morning. The application process was a bit messy as I just used my fingers to apply the color into my hair. Not a big deal because it washes right off when you are done. After the application I used some Shine-a-Loc in a bid to seal the color in and this also gave the section a more natural blended look. When the weekend was over I simply washed out the color and it was back to normal for work Monday morning.

The pictures in this blog post were taken on Sunday so the color does last more than 24 hours in the hair. So last weekend I just did a little section, maybe I will color it all for the next 😉 I salute the genius who first thought to experiment with this. I definitely will be keeping an eye out for the next exciting product to experiment with.

20140629_164610

20140629_164846

Back to black hair on Monday

Back to black hair on Monday

7 thoughts on “Happy Coloured Nappy

  1. Aisha says:

    This is a really awesome article megan! I didn’t know you could use eye shadow! I was looking into hair chalking for something less permanent but it doesn’t work for our hair texture very well or on locks in general. This looks great though! Thanks for the idea! I can’t wait to try it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

